Have you ever put someone on a pedestal, then been devastated when they disappointed you?

Have you ever looked to another person to be what only God can be?

Theologian C.H. Spurgeon wrote this:

“I have learned to kiss the wave that throws me against the Rock of Ages.”

800px-Wave_rock_(2005)

If your ‘wave’ is idol worship in the form of other people, it may sweep you under one day. But if you allow yourself to come up for air it will also throw you against God. He is truly the ONLY one that can satisfy your heart’s desires. He has certainly fulfilled my desperate, unyielding need for unconditional love. There is nothing I can do in myself to earn it. I just have to choose to receive. He loves me no matter what because he IS love. He can’t be anything else. And falling into HIM is anything but risky. He is my true, unchangeable, unmatchable Rock of Ages. And no human – no matter how loving or beautiful or inspirational or wise – will ever come close to him.

