Me and my blog

Found in translation

Our lives are full of stories and meaning, but translation can be where we are lost, as the movie proposes. In beginning this blog, which I hope will be a good outlet for my over-analytical, melancholic tendencies, I hope to in some way translate some of my internal speculations about ‘God stuff’ into words that make sense to me (as a bare minimum). This aim now articulated, I therefore choose to embark on the journey the procrastinator in me is fighting at every turn. High five me.

About me? I’m a 33-year-old Sydney resident who is married with two kids, both boys. My part-time job is editor of a news magazine for the gift and greeting card industry. I also know more than I would care to about smash repairs from my work proof-reading Australasian Paint & Panel. I prefer writing to unexpected conversation, because ‘back space’ is easier than the back door.

My natural tendency to think too much about absolutely everything means I need to work hard at  just ‘being’ (and I do realise the irony in that). So thanks for being one of the first to indulge in my ponderous ramblings. I look forward to getting to know you better! Yo!

8 thoughts on “Found in translation

  1. Hi there,

    I trust you’ll find that as you write The Holy Spirit will work in you, and reveal more than you can ever imagine.

    This morning I was greatly blessed to ponder over a few verses, and then tap out 300 words. I started with one impression, but writing enriched my understanding of a Great God.

    May the same happen to you as you share your journey.

    Stephen

  2. yo! wassup g? hehe, like the part about backspace vs back door, i can’t really think of things on the spot, so i know what you mean 🙂

    1. lol, g here – howya doin’ homie?! hehe, you’re a kindred spirit for sure (though I’d argue that’s just not true – you are often very funny!) 🙂 xx

  3. ‘Yo!’ What? Cuz Ali, just reminding you, I am older than you and, by the way, I’ve noticed you’ve met a few boys in the past 4 years….

    Good to have this link into your mind! Thanks for sharing it. We must be related… if I start my own blog, it may seem I’m plagiarising your self-description.

    lots of love to you.

    1. Hehe… hey Senior (senorita?) Cuz! Thanks for the reminder of your familial authority.. and despite still using ‘Yo’ to end some of my rants, I have come up in the world since that gruelling, boy-free time at Penshurst Girls High. I think having three boys in my life is pretty impressive I must say.
      Hehe, glad we can meet here, and let me know if you do start your own – it’s a bit scary but I’m glad I did it 🙂 Feel free to plagiarise – though the Yo bit is strictly MINE!
      Lots of love, and great to see you recently. Yay/Yo/Yoo. To the homies and the peeps.

Comment on this post?

