Spiritual growth and healing

A larger view

Sometimes a little problem becomes much bigger – or something random and horrible takes us by surprise. When this happens it’s easy to shrink our perspective down to the size of the problem itself rather than looking at the bigger picture. We can give ourselves a headache from fear, anxiety and stress about an immediate issue. But when we take a step back and start pondering the larger view, it’s amazing what perspective we find.

Emotions are real, but they’re just emotions. Everyone has them – a range of them, every day. I’ve thankfully learnt to first take a few moments out of the situation, examine the feeling I’m having, and give it space… Somehow just acknowledging what is going on for me is all the balm I need when things are hard. Not pushing the emotion away, but letting it be…

Another way of keeping things in perspective is to remind myself that God knows exactly what I’m going through. He loves my kids and the people in my life more than I ever could, and he has a plan for their lives as well as mine. He is up on both the large and the small picture of my life. He has it all covered. He knows everything about me, and loves me deeply. He will not let me down, or let me go. He is everything, and he is steering the ship of my life. How amazing to serve a God who knows me through and through and can see the beginning from the end. He knows what I need right now, he knows what will happen in the future – and his plans will ultimately bring me home to him! Thank you God!

I love the Psalm below. It speaks beautifully about the intimate way God relates to us, his sons and daughters:

Psalm 139

1O Lord, you have searched me

and you know me.

2You know when I sit and when I rise;

you perceive my thoughts from afar.

3You discern my going out and my lying down;

you are familiar with all my ways.

4Before a word is on my tongue

you know it completely, O Lord.

5You hem me in—behind and before;

you have laid your hand upon me.

6Such knowledge is too wonderful for me,

too lofty for me to attain.

7Where can I go from your Spirit?

Where can I flee from your presence?

8If I go up to the heavens, you are there;

if I make my bed in the depths,a you are there.

9If I rise on the wings of the dawn,

if I settle on the far side of the sea,

10even there your hand will guide me,

your right hand will hold me fast.

11If I say, “Surely the darkness will hide me

and the light become night around me,”

12even the darkness will not be dark to you;

the night will shine like the day,

for darkness is as light to you.

13For you created my inmost being;

you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

14I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

your works are wonderful,

I know that full well.

15My frame was not hidden from you

when I was made in the secret place.

When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

16your eyes saw my unformed body.

All the days ordained for me

were written in your book

before one of them came to be.

17How precious tob me are your thoughts, O God!

How vast is the sum of them!

18Were I to count them,

they would outnumber the grains of sand.

When I awake,

I am still with you….

23Search me, O God, and know my heart;

test me and know my anxious thoughts.

24See if there is any offensive way in me,

and lead me in the way everlasting…

4 thoughts on “A larger view

  1. Ha! The first commenter made me think I should read this psalm every day! And when the trials roll in, wow, I should probably write this on a peace (!) of paper and read it moment by moment. This is such a calming and re-assuring reminder of how God has it under control when we don’t! Excellent!

Comment on this post?

