Bible quotes · Life and other catastrophes · Relating to God · Spiritual growth and healing · The way we are · Verses and prayers

A life verse for scaredy-cats like me…

Ask me what my ‘life verse’ is, and I’ll point you to this one. 

It was one of the first verses I committed to memory as a child, because it gave me an instant dose of strength and courage when I felt afraid.

And I’ve always been an anxious person.

When the ‘mountains’ of school and relationships and life issues seemed insurmountable, I clung to these words. 

The idea of my strength coming from a force greater and more powerful than me was emboldening… and the thought that there was nothing I could not overcome was liberating. 

Today, I still hold onto these words. 

They remind me I’m not alone in this world. 

I have a Heavenly Father; a Saviour; and a Best Friend who offers me his strength and courage day in and day out. 

And while I still get scared sometimes, I’m reassured that there’s nothing we can’t handle together. Nothing my God cannot do, if he so desires to do it. 

Yes, it’s true: I can do all things through Him who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13)

And so can you.
http://bible.com/111/php.4.13.NIV

5 thoughts on “A life verse for scaredy-cats like me…

  1. This is a stunning post. I agree on every level with you. Truly. I am most found whenever I am most lost. Beautiful post darling. ๐Ÿ™‚ Joanna

Comment on this post?

